We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Arnside Tower

Arnside Tower
Arnside Tower
Arnside Tower
Arnside Tower
241505
NMO20140411020
Arnside Tower
Arnside
Arnside Tower is a Pele Tower; it was built by the De Broughton family about 1340. Nothing is known about it until it was damaged by fire. Lancaster Parish Registers include the entry that the 27th day of October at night being in the year of our Lord God 1602, being a mighty wind was Arneshead Tower burned as it pleased the Lord to smite.
The tower was rebuilt and survived intact until 1690 when lead and timber was removed to Knowsley. In 1691/2 it appears to have been forfeited by Sir Thomas Broughton and it was being leased by the Earl of Derby. In 1815 it was sold to Daniel Wilson of Dallam. In 1884 during a great storm one corner of the tower fell down. As can be seen in this view the tower is four storeys high, it had two turrets. The walls are 4-5 ft thick composed of limestone. There were 54 winding steps up to the top.
Glass slide, positive
Colour
80mm x 80mm
1901
Enter year in yyyy format
This item includes these files